Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Silver Ball of College Football

A couple of gentleman named David Dyte and Andrew Ross created the Silver Ball of College Football - beginning with the generally recognized first game between Rutgers and Princeton. (I'm not as big a college football historian as I could be, but that game sounded more like a rugby match than gridiron football.) This is a "champion ball" on the order of the championship belt in boxing. You have to beat the holder to win it. For the first 40 years, the Ivy League dominated. It wasn't called that at the time, but it was the same schools. Then it made it's journey around the country. There's some surprise schools on this list.

No comments:

Post a Comment